Care Certificate

The Care Certificate is an agreed set of standards that define the knowledge, skills, and behaviours expected of specific job roles in the health and social care sectors. It's made up of the 15 minimum standards that should be covered if you are 'new to care' and should form part of a robust induction programme.

The Care Certificate was developed jointly by Skills for CareHealth Education England, and Skills for Health

The Standards 

  1. Understand your role
  2. Your personal development
  3. Duty of care
  4. Equality and diversity
  5. Work in a person-centered way              
  6. Communication
  7. Privacy and dignity
  8. Fluids and nutrition
  9. Awareness of mental health, dementia, and learning disabilities
  10. Safeguarding adults
  11. Safeguarding children
  12. Basic life support
  13. Health and safety
  14. Handling information
  15. Infection prevention and control

The information in this section shows you the national resources available to deliver the care certificate within your own organisation, resources that have been developed by employers in South Yorkshire, along with information about the SYREC Care Certificate Approved Awarder process.

Skills for Care have developed a range of resources, both national and local, to inform you about the Care Certificate.

Information on how your organisation can become an approved awarder.

Have a question around the Care Certificate? Ask one of our Care Certificate Champions!